Quick Burlap Earring Display

Today I finally knocked out a quick little project I’ve had in mind for a few months: an earring display. 

When we moved into this house, I more or less plopped stuff down in my master bathroom and bedroom and haven’t done a whole lot with it. 

The master bath has a convenient shelf next to the double vanity where I store towels, lotions, my toiletry kit for travel, and my jewelry. 

  
The majority of my jewelry is currently stored in an assortment of plastic storage boxes. I have plans to do a little better, but we’ll see what happens when I actually get around to it. 

The wall above the shelf is just calling for a little gallery collection (and screaming for a couple coats of paint!) and I’ve been working on figuring out what will go there. I have a couple items and have been waiting to find a frame or two to really put it together. 

The only thing that has been displayed on that wall – for the last nine months now – are the birth affirmations I created before Rosie’s birth. They’ve been looking a little sad since I actually gave two of them to a friend in preparation for her daughter’s birth back in May. Either way, they still remind me how awesome I am, and what amazing gifts come at the end of a hard day’s work! 

  
Anyhow, back to the quick project: my jewelry display. It’s super easy! 

Step 1: Place burlap fabric in embroidery hoop. 

Step 2: Hang it from a nail in the wall. 

Step 3: Display earrings 

Step 4: Smile because you’re done, and it was that easy!

  
Some details: 

I have extra burlap from some coffee bags I purchased in May when I was on Kauai (more projects coming soon!). I just used a plain piece without any printing since I’m saving the rest for some other projects I have planned. 

I picked up a 12-inch embroidery hoop at the craft store for about 4 bucks. I was kind of bummed when I bought a couple more at a garage sale this weekend for just 10-cents a piece. Oh, well. 

I added a quick coat of stain to the hoop since I wasn’t wild about its natural color. I might actually go back and give it a cost of metallic spray paint (I’m thinking gold) in the future once I get the rest of the items hung on the wall. 

  
I originally thought I might paint a monogram or something on the burlap for added interest, but I actually like it plain since it displays my earrings so nicely. 

This obviously works for the dangly earrings. I’m still trying to dream up a solution for my studs. It’s nice to finally see my other earrings on display since I tend to forget about them. Honestly, studs are my best friend right now with a 9-month baby. I am terrified of having to get my earlobes stitched after an earring is ripped out. For now, my studs live in a ceramic egg tray from World Market. I would’ve taken a pic, but it was dusty! 

Can’t wait to get the rest of this wall together (along with painting the heck out of the cabinets and walls in this bathroom someday). 

One thought on “Quick Burlap Earring Display

  1. Pingback: Coffee Art or Memo Board? | Home By Hanley

Leave a Reply

