Father’s Day & A Homemade Gift

I consider myself incredibly lucky to have a wonderful Dad who is always there for me, ready to impart words of wisdom whether or not I’m ready to hear them. I love that I can always call my Dad with handyman questions while trying to figure out a home improvement project, ask him for financial advise, bring friend or family relationship problems to him and no matter what, I can always rely on a well measured and wise response acquired through his years of experience. My Dad can be a tough-as-nails business man, a fun-loving guy who likes a good time, and (my favorite part) a surprisingly sentimental family man. My Dad is such a great reflection of my Heavenly Father and I am so thankful that I am his daughter.

20140615-175933-64773072.jpg
Father-Daughter Date Night when I was 5

20140615-175933-64773323.jpg
My Daddy still knows how to make me feel special! My and Shane’s Wedding in 2009

I feel like it is such a joy and a privilege to watch Shane grow into his role as a father with Tristan. I hope and pray that the two of them can enjoy an equally strong, albeit quite different, relationship as I have with my Dad. The two of them bond over things I certainly don’t understand, and I’m sure that will only increase as Tristan gets older. It’s so interesting to see Shane think of ways to interact with Tristan that I never would have considered. This has been the after-dinner scene in our house over the past week: Shane and Tristan trading back massages.

20140616-132719-48439505.jpg

I wouldn’t have guessed Tristan would enjoy a back massage as much as he does!

The timing on this couldn’t have been more perfect as I came upon a great Fathers Day Gift idea waaaaay back in January. Tristan and I made a “Daddy’s Massage Shirt” for Shane.

20140616-132948-48588039.jpg

I simply picked up a package of white undershirts (conveniently on sale pre-Fathers Day) pulled out one shirt and saved the rest for Shane who is in need of new undershirts anyhow. I deconstructed a cereal box that I put inside the shirt to prevent bleed-through and used masking tape to hold the shirt nice and taut while I drew the car map.

I used Crayola Fabric Markers leftover from onesie decorating at my baby shower to draw the design. My car map was inspired by a similar design I saw on Etsy, but I modified it to add details that seemed more specific to Shane and Tristan’s tastes. After the design was completed, I just put the t-shirt in the dryer for 30 minutes to set the ink.

We wrapped up the shirt with a couple matchbox cars we bought along with the shirts. Altogether, the gift probably only cost $6! (Probably plan on about $12 if you have to buy the fabric markers). Needless to say, our humble, homemade gift was well received!

20140616-133613-48973232.jpg

It was so cute watching them play cars too! Of course, Tristan thinks the cars are his gift. Oh, well!

20140616-133817-49097687.jpg

Happy Fathers Day!

Leave a Reply

