A View from the Outside

I can’t believe it’s already been a month since I last posted and a month since we closed on our new house!

Needless to say, I’ve been busy unpacking and organizing. I wish I could add decorating in there, but I’ve honestly not made it to that point. It would be so much more fun than trying to figure out the most efficient way to organize our stuff. I swear my borderline OCD drives me crazy sometimes!

On the upside, we finally got a couch. It sure as heck beats sitting on the crappy tri-fold futon on the floor of the living room.

The place is slowly coming together. If it were up to me, I’d have everything all set by now. However, I have an energetic son to take care of and a hubby that works crazy hours. There were (actually still is one) boxes in our bedroom up until 10 days ago. With Shane working the graveyard shift in March, he would sleep all day (effectively kicking me out of our room) and then work all night. I was still digging through suitcases for my clothes until his shift finally changed at the beginning of the month!

I’ll post photos of the progress we made sometime soon. As soon as I clear up the clutter. Seriously, all of the miscellaneous moving clutter everywhere is driving me crazy! It doesn’t help that as soon as I pick up all of Tristan’s blocks (stepping on those things is awful!) he dumps them all out again.

One day I’ll feel “moved in.”

We had a beautiful sunny morning here the other day and I was letting Shane get some sleep so I took Tristan exploring on our property. It feels silly to say it, but we’ve owned the house for a month and I hadn’t even been all the way to the back of our 3 acre property.

The lots in our neighborhood are all 3 acres, but they’re called “spaghetti lots” meaning they’re long and skinny. The back of our property is a pretty decent distance from the house. The back acre had been scrubbed and covered in cinder at some point, but has since overgrown again. The front of our property between the house and the street is pretty lush and jungle-like. Behind the house there’s a lot of tall grass, ‘ohia trees and some random other stuff thrown in the mix.

Tristan was pretty freaked out by the tall grass and wouldn’t walk through it. Needless to say, I ended up piggybacking him.

Ok, enough talking, here’s some pictures from our yard.

20140415-211708.jpg
‘Ohia tree with lots of lehua blossoms

20140415-211804.jpg
Our house is somewhere waaaay behind Tristan

20140415-211915.jpg

Our “wild” flowers

20140415-212028.jpg

20140415-212200.jpg
One of our many varieties of palms

20140415-212326.jpg
Our driveway, right before the clouds opened up and rained on me and Tristan.

Don’t ask me what our plans are for our yard/land. I have absolutely no idea what to do with all of it.

I definitely intend on keeping things as natural as possible and just letting most of the land be. I want to maintain the existing ecosystem, so high on the agenda will be eliminating some invasive plants that choke out the native species. The many palms and fruit trees on the property have been somewhat neglected the last few years, so our first order of business will be cleaning up fallen palm fronds and getting the trees back into good health. Then we can start thinking about other stuff. Like most things with homeownership, the yard will be one big work in progress for quite some time. Shane joked the other day that we probably won’t have our yard/land finished to where we want it until we retire. We’ll see, I guess.

One thought on “A View from the Outside

Leave a Reply

