Best Burrito Bowls Ever!

Tonight I made an awesome dinner, if I may say so myself. One of the things I’m enjoying about being a stay-at-home mom right now is that I have far more time to play around in the kitchen. I love to cook, especially for people I love, so having the time to do so is a huge bonus in my book.

This morning I had already thought about dinner and was going to do some Chipotle-style vegetarian burrito bowls. Then Anita pulled out some chicken breasts from the freezer and tortilla bowl makers similar to these. From there, dinner got a whole lot more awesome!

This afternoon I stuck the thawed chicken breasts in the slow-cooker with a half an onion, diced and a couple cloves of garlic, minced. I added some kosher salt, chili powder and cumin and half a cup of water. I let the chicken cook for about 3 hours on high. When it was done I transferred it to a bowl and simply shredded it with two forks.

I prepared brown rice in the rice cooker and added some chopped cilantro to it. Thinking back, a squeeze of lime juice would’ve really made it special. In addition, I mixed up some guacamole with a huuuuuge avocado that came from a friend’s yard, lime juice (sourced from an auntie’s tree), minced garlic, diced tomato and kosher salt.

I sprayed the inside of the tortilla baking cups with olive oil, gently folded the tortillas into it and then sprayed the tortillas with olive oil. I baked them at 375 degrees for 15 minutes.

When the tortilla bowls were done, we loaded them up with lettuce, rice, chicken, guacamole, cheese, salsa and sour cream. It was a totally awesome meal!

20131119-215247.jpg

20131119-215326.jpg

As an added bonus, an extra tortilla bowl made my dessert extra awesome too! I totally think these would rock as dessert bowls if sprinkled with cinnamon sugar before they’re baked.

20131119-215736.jpg

Have you made any meals lately that you’re totally jazzed about?

Leave a Reply

