Hawaii Life – Getting Settled

Today marks one month since Tristan and I arrived in Hawaii to begin our new life. In some ways I can hardly believe it has been a month since we got here and in other ways it feels like we’ve always lived here.

A lot of things remain quite unsettled. It will be a few months still before we know for sure which district on the island Shane will be assigned. Therefore, our living arrangements are completely up in the air. Currently, Tristan and I are living with Shane’s dad on one side of the island while Shane is in training Monday through Friday on the other side of the island. It’s been really difficult to not see each other everyday. Some days we don’t even really get a chance to talk. I’ll be so thankful when we can all live together again. We’re trying to take advantage of our current living situation (however inconvenient) and save money so we’ll have a great down payment on a place of our own sooner rather than later.

We already fell in love with one house, only to have our hearts broken. Turns out the property falls under Hawaiian Homelands and we would need to be 50% Native Hawaiian in order to purchase it. We have been scoping out different neighborhoods at least and getting a feel for where we would like to live. I’m learning it’s quite hot the lower the elevation (and closer to the beach) you are. A thousand feet up the mountain and the temperatures are a few degrees cooler and you even get some refreshing afternoon rain showers. (It’s actually raining pretty hard while I write this). I’m trying my best to be patient, after all Shane still has another 5 months to go in training.

Otherwise, I’m getting pretty comfortable in my new life. Moving five or six thousand miles is a big change, but the bigger adjustment for me has been going from being a working mom with my child in daycare to being a stay-at-home-mom (SAHM). Both are definitely challenging in their own way, but boy does Tristan wear me out by the end of the day!

20130925-150356.jpg

Driving me craaaazy!

Having a kid does make it easier to meet people and make friends, I think. Kids are a ready-made icebreaker and there’s always plenty of moms hanging around the playground! I’ve been fortunate to find an amazing play group that is the highlight of my week (who thought I’d say that 5 years ago?). I’ve managed to meet several people through the play group and I’ve already recruited a fellow transplant to join the group too.

I still have quite a bit to figure out regarding my doula career and how exactly I want to implement it. Truth be told, I really am having so much fun focusing on Tristan right now. We don’t need the additional income, so I’m taking things one step at a time. Slowly, but surely I will get there.

We’ve really been enjoying the family time we have on weekends here too – something we weren’t really able to share due to our work schedules in DC. We go to the beach pretty much every weekend – you can hate me if you want. šŸ˜„ We are lucky enough to live in Hawaii, how could we not go to the beach?!

Gratuitous beach pictures:

20130925-150825.jpg

Keiki Beach – one of our go-to spots

20130925-150912.jpg

20130925-150944.jpg

The family that paddles together…

Tristan has turned out to be quite the water baby! He even stood up on the paddle board on Sunday. He surprised us so much, I don’t even think we have photographic evidence. That kid will be surfing by the time he’s 3!

The ability to go to the beach anytime I want aside, I must confess I’m already missing seasons!

I think it’s the images on Pinterest and people’s Facebook statuses about perfect Fall weather that are killing me. I can go get a Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks, but there’s something that’s not quite right about sipping it while it’s 90 degrees outside. I’m sure I’ll adjust, but to cope I’m planning on making some pumpkin spice oatmeal this weekend! (Gotta fuel a day at the beach somehow! šŸ˜„)

I’ll update you all again soon. Aloha for now!

One thought on “Hawaii Life – Getting Settled

  1. Love getting the news Allison. We miss you both. He is so darn cute. I have not had a pumpkin spice latte yet. I refuse until it gets below 65 degrees during the day. They already have Christmas decorations out. I can’t stand that. We need to slow down and enjoy each day which you are doing. Have fun with that special boy, Shane too. Hugs, kisses and high fives.
    Angela

Leave a Reply

