Farewell, Washington, D.C.

It seems fitting that this should be the 100th post on my blog.  I started this nearly 2 1/2 years ago when we bought our first house, and now we’re onto a whole other adventure moving 5000 miles away.

Saying goodbye this week has been incredibly difficult.  It is certainly no fun to part with people I know and love.  Added to that, I’ve been single-mom-ing it for 2 1/2 weeks while getting the house under contract, cleaning up the odds and ends of moving, getting the car shipped and still working up until yesterday.  I’m exhausted.

It’s more than just moving to a new home.  I’m frankly still a little stunned that I just left perfectly good employment by the federal government to pursue a 180-degree career change as a (mostly) stay-at-home-mom and Birth Doula.  Bigger than that, I’ve spent the past 9 years in the D.C. metro area – that’s a third of my 27 year life! (And the second longest I’ve lived anywhere; Chicago only beats D.C. by 2 years).  A lot has happened here and Washington has been very good to me.

2005 Cherry Blossoms as a freshman at George Mason University (and idealistic Poli-Sci major)

2005 Cherry Blossoms as a freshman at George Mason University (and idealistic Poli-Sci major)

As a still idealistic intern for then-Senator and freshly declared Presidential Candidate Barack Obama

As a still idealistic intern for then-Senator and freshly declared Presidential Candidate Barack Obama

Graduate of George Mason University in 2008 with some of my besties

Graduate of George Mason University in 2008 with some of my besties

Met my future husband where we kissed on the Speaker's Balcony on the 4th of July

Met my future husband where we kissed on the Speaker’s Balcony on the 4th of July

Worked a pretty cool job with perks like going to the top of the Capitol Dome

Worked a pretty cool job with perks like going to the top of the Capitol Dome

Bought our first house, where we brought home our son to live a cozy life

Bought our first house, where we brought home our son to live a cozy life

Yep, I’ve had it really great here!  It’s hard not to cry as I leave so many good people and good times behind.

I know Shane and I have some really awesome adventures awaiting us in Hawaii.  It’s going to be interesting to see how I adjust to island life (I really am a city girl at heart), and how we both take to our new careers.  We have made the decision that is right for us that allows us to each pursue things we’re passionate about while creating a stronger family bond between ourselves, and our extended ‘ohana.  We’re so excited for the opportunities Tristan (and any future kiddos who come our way) will have to grow up near family and live in a community that possesses strong culture and is so incredibly supportive of the things we value most: family and an active outdoors lifestyle.

Washington, D.C., you will be missed and certainly not forgotten.  I fully intend to return to visit one day.  After all, somebody will have to educate my son’s 8th grade class on how the legislative branch actually works.

Taken my last day as a Capitol Hill employee

Taken my last day as a Capitol Hill employee

Leave a Reply

