Missing In Action

I know I’ve been missing in action the past few weeks.  I’ve been busy, but then again, who hasn’t?

I honestly have a lot on my plate and I’ve been debating about whether or not I want to keep blogging.  Boy, New Years resolutions die hard! After managing to blog on a regular schedule for several weeks, I’ve realized there’s not all that much I’m dying to write about.  Sure, I have ideas here and there about things to blog about (making my own baby food, for example) but then the thought of taking, uploading and sizing pictures seems like too much.  Even sitting down to write a post takes time away from Tristan and Shane or time with myself.  I’ve discovered I enjoy reading blogs more than I enjoy writing my own.

Putting the pressure on myself to post regularly was a good exercise, because now I can admit, I like blogging but not on a timeline.  This is more of a hobby for me, not a business.  I don’t even care if I have a large readership – it’s not like I’m trying to make money doing this.  I also don’t think I’m cut out to do the fancy DIY tutorial type of posts I see on the blogs I love to follow.  It’s just not me.  In the future, you can expect more informal reflections and updates about what’s going on in my life and less projects and photos.  I can’t promise regular posts either.  That adorable son of mine is growing so fast I want to soak up every minute I have with him while I can!  (I guess I want to hang out with Shane too – love you, babe!)

In other news…I’ve been very busy working my way towards a career change! I am actively working towards certification as a birth doula through DONA International.  I attended a training workshop last month and I am now equipped to work as a doula.  I’m still completing other requirements for my certification process, but I am super excited to dive in and make this my career! I will probably post more about what I do as a birth doula in the future as I get the business side of things up and running.  If you happen to know anyone expecting a baby in Northern Virginia or Washington, DC, feel free to recommend me as a doula!

 

Leave a Reply

