It’s a Boy!

It turns out my Big Nursery Reveal post was done just in time! Last Saturday after I completed the post and updated my blog theme and header, Shane and I went for a walk around the neighborhood. He snapped this last picture of me pregnant on that walk:

20120527-181344.jpg

Once we got home and sat down to dinner around 8pm, labor started. My contractions were about 10 minutes apart and pretty painless. We finished dinner, watched some tv and decided to head to bed to rest up around 11. I was hoping to get a good night’s rest before the big day (Shane too after working all day on Saturday), but Baby Hanley had other things in mind. I woke up at 2am Sunday to go to the bathroom. When I got back into bed, I realized my contractions were coming kind of frequently and were a bit more painful. I spent 30 minutes timing them and realized they were already 3 minutes apart and lasting a full minute each.

I woke up Shane and told him it was time. After we called the doctor and the doula and got our bags loaded in the car, it was after 4am and we were on our way!

Thank God it was 4am on a Sunday and we didn’t have to deal with typical DC traffic. We still somehow managed to hit nearly every traffic light on the way to the hospital. Nobody ever told me coping with contractions in the car would be so difficult! I was the crazy lady moaning with the window down while we were next to the same car at every one of those stoplights.

We finally arrived at the hospital about 4:45am, but they wouldn’t admit me until 7am. I had to walk the hallway and labor in triage for two hours before I was at a full 4cm dilated. I’m just glad they didn’t send me home!

We had a full day ahead of us, anxiously anticipating Baby Hanley’s arrival. At 8:31pm on May 20, Shane was able to finally announce, “It’s a boy!”

I can’t believe it’s already been a full week since we welcomed little Tristan into the world! As to be expected, it’s been an adjustment to the Hanley household, but we’re all doing well. Even Portia and Lily seem to love him already.

Here’s a taste of Tristan’s first week of life:

20120527-190530.jpg

20120527-190600.jpg

20120527-190642.jpg

20120527-190726.jpg

20120527-190744.jpg

20120527-190930.jpg

20120527-190948.jpg

It’s been a blessed week!

One thought on “It’s a Boy!

  1. Tristan is such a good combination of both you and Shane. I enjoy seeing all the similarities! What a beautiful family!

Leave a Reply

