Sew Cool: Making a Flag Banner for the Nursery

Over the weekend, I completed my most recent nursery project – a flag banner to decorate the wall.  I wanted to make one of these since spying many cute buntings on Pinterest including this one from my nursery mood board.  I’d really been wanting to include one in our nursery decor, but I wasn’t exactly sure where I was going to hang it.  I toyed with the idea of making two little ones as makeshift valences to dress up the windows.  Based on where I wanted to hang other art on the walls, I thought that might make the walls with the windows look too busy.  Meanwhile, there was a huge expanse of empty wall space above the crib. I decided that above the crib would be the perfect spot and sewed the banner with that length in mind.

I’m not going to reinvent the wheel – I found this Craftaholics Anonymous tutorial online after searching Pinterest and followed her directions to a tee (except where I made my banner a bit longer).  I used leftover fabric from the nursery set my mom made and also picked up two quarter flats of a green paisley at Hancock Fabrics to add some more color instead of using the leftover brown fabric.  I also picked up some white bias tape, and for under 10 bucks, I was ready to go.

Without further ado, the finished project:

Once Baby Hanley arrives, we plan on hanging or painting his/her monogram on the wall centered above the banner.  Here I am posing with my handiwork for my 36 week bump shot:

I’m hoping to completely finish things up in the nursery very soon – the clock is ticking, after all.  We have a lamp and a couple other things up on the wall now.  We’re so close to being done and Baby Hanley’s arrival – expect a completed nursery post soon!

3 thoughts on “Sew Cool: Making a Flag Banner for the Nursery

  1. Pingback: A Place to Rest My Feet | Home By Hanley

  2. Pingback: Big Nursery Reveal | Home By Hanley

Leave a Reply

