Polka Dotted Drawers

No, I’m not talking about these:

I’m talking about Baby Hanley’s dresser!

Since we scrapped our initial plans to refinish Shane’s old baby dresser (talked about here), I still wanted to personalize the Carter’s Manchester Dresser we purchased to match the crib and changing table.  I was already planning on lining the drawers in Shane’s old dresser, so I decided why not line these drawers with something fun?

After a trip to The Paper Source in Old Town we came home with polka dot wrapping paper in four colors.  (I forgot to take a picture of just the papers…oops!)  We were hoping to find something that fit our apples & pears theme a little better, but no dice.  We instead picked out papers in red, light blue, light green and yellow with white polka dots that matched the colors in our apples & pears fabric.  It figures, the next day at World Market I ran across wrapping paper with pink and green pears on a navy background – super cute!  Since we’re Team Green and trying to keep things pretty gender neutral, I decided the pear paper was a no-go since it felt a little too girly and I want Baby H to use this dresser for many years, girl or boy.

To complete this project, I followed instructions I found on (where else?) Young House Love.  The first step was to cut the papers down to size for the drawers.

Unfortunately, the papers all came at 27″ and my drawers measured 28″ wide.  I just cut an extra inch and a half from my scrap to cover the gap.  Of course the pattern doesn’t line up perfectly, but it’s not that big of a deal – as my father-in-law pointed out, it’s going to be covered by clothes.

After I had the papers cut down to the correct size and I checked for fit (an important step as I found I had cut one of my scraps an inch short by mistake) I applied Mod Podge in a matte finish directly to the wood drawer bottoms with a foam brush.

Once I had coated the drawer bottom with Mod Podge, I carefully attempted to lay the paper down, working from the middle out.  This is easier said than done.  The stupid supports in the corners by the drawer fronts made this extremely difficult as I had to manage to slide the paper underneath the support and try not to wrinkle it at the same time.  I did the drawer with the red paper first, and it’s certainly not my best.

There’s some pretty good wrinkles in there.  I attempted the next drawer again by myself before calling on Shane to help me with the last two.  The green and yellow drawers, while not perfect, achieved much better results with a two-man team laying the paper on top of the medium.

Once the papers were all down, I let the drawers dry over night with the door to the nursery closed so Portia and Lily didn’t accidentally get glued down.  The next morning, I finished the drawers with a thin coat of Mod Podge on top of the papers.

They were still wet in this picture so they look a little extra wrinkly, but I promise they dried a lot smoother, although not perfect. The yellow one looks especially wrinkled because of the lighting – that drawer is actually my best!

I love the fun pop of color you get when you open the dresser drawers now (this picture could be better, but I’m not that tall!):

While I was waiting for the drawers to dry, I figured it was the perfect time to start washing Baby’s clothes and blankets.  We’re getting pretty close to the end and it’s about time I take care of this stuff! Aren’t Baby’s clothes all cute in the fun drawer?

One more nursery project down and just a few more to go.  I’ll be back in the next couple days with an update and pictures of the whole nursery.

One thought on “Polka Dotted Drawers

  1. Pingback: Big Nursery Reveal | Home By Hanley

Leave a Reply

