Hot, Hot, Hot

Ever seen that episode of The Office when Michael returns from his Jamaican vacation with Jan? He brings back a steel drum that he practices in his office forever playing the one line: I’m feeling hot, hot, hot.  Not without reason, I’ve had that stuck in my head for days now. I saw the rerun of that episode on TBS the other night and it’s been flippin’ hot here for days. 

Okay, it’s been typically Washington, DC in July hot all month, but this massive heat wave hit us on Thursday and it’s been sweaty miserable since.  Last night I turned on the news to catch the weather (like it’s going to be anything other than hot…) before bed and it was 90 degrees at 11pm with a heat index of 100 degrees! Holy Cow! I guess I should be happy with the fact that my A/C has been running nonstop and the house is 85 degrees at best.  That’s approximately a whole 15 degrees cooler than outside, but it just feels [Insert completely whiny voice here] so hot. 

I don’t know about anybody else, but the heat results in me making poor decisions.  Take last night for example.  After peeling off my work clothes (stuck to my skin after the walk from the metro station) and getting more comfortable I couldn’t decide what I wanted to do for dinner.  The heat makes my appetite disappear, but I felt I should try and eat something.  I decided to have a glass of wine while I thought it over.  My appetite didn’t return, so I had a couple more glasses.  I ended up giggly and drunk and irritating the heck out of my husband.  Finally around 9:30 I broke out the Whirly Pop to make dinner.  Nothing does the body good like buttery, delicious popcorn and copious amounts of wine.  Needless to say, the heat didn’t really help with the hangover this morning. 

I was pretty amused when my mom emailed me the following cartoon though:

How are you all staying cool? Does the heat cause anybody else to make poor dinner decisions? Am I just blaming the weather for my poor decisions?

3 thoughts on “Hot, Hot, Hot

  1. Pingback: My Brown Thumb and Weed-B-Gone | Home By Hanley

  2. Pingback: 6 Months as Homeowners: Lessons Learned | Home By Hanley

  3. Pingback: 6 Months as Homeowners: Lessons Learned | Home By Hanley

Leave a Reply

