Hosting @ the Hanley’s

We will be hosting our first visitors at the Hanley Home on Easter Sunday!

I’m such a perfectionist that I couldn’t imagine inviting anybody over until things were more put together around here.  Eventually, I realized that I’m not going to be satisfied with the arrangement/furniture/cleanliness/organization/function of this house for a long, long time.  In fact I have a belief that you’re never fully satisfied with your home until it’s time to move.  Growing up, I remember my parents doing plenty of renovations in our first house in Chicago.  Once we finally liked what we had done with the house, my Dad got a new job and we moved across country and started over again in Massachusetts.  At the new house, we renovated and painted and fixed up everything to our liking and then my Dad got a new job, and we moved back to Chicago.  We really renovated that place, new kitchen, new bathrooms, new carpet and paint among many other projects.  Once it felt complete…you guessed it, time to move. 

I’m trying to keep these life experiences in mind as we try to make our first house a home and take it step by step.  I’m not going to lie though – I can’t stand stuff just sitting out and not having a defined place to keep it.  We’re really in need of a desk in our front/dining room.  We had an inadequate desk that was damaged in the move.  Since we were planning on replacing it anyways, it wasn’t a tragic loss.  In the mean time, keeping my files and computer and other desk supplies in a series of boxes on the floor is driving me nuts.  I really want this Incognito Desk from Crate and Barrel.  The price is pretty steep, so I’ll have to see if I can find something similar or the same thing for less on Craigslist. 

Speaking of the front/dining room (I’m not really sure what to call it) here’s some photos:

 Luckily, you can’t see my boxes of office supplies in the corner on the right.  I think I purposely tried to camouflage them with the table.  That’s Lily with the glowing eyes.  The cabinet on the left is my current favorite thing.  It was a bit of a splurge, even on clearance, at Pier 1 Imports, but I love it! It has bamboo door fronts and serves as our much needed pantry and home of my many, many cookbooks.  Eventually, we plan on purchasing a new dining table and chairs as our current set is far too small.  

The banner says “Welcome Home Hanleys” and was custom-made by our awesome real estate agent.  It’s been up for over a month now and I’m not sure when exactly it will come down although I have big plans for that wall space between the windows.  I love that you can catch a glimpse of the American flag painted on the fence at the top of our drive way.  That’s totally sarcastic.  Although a patriot, I’m not wild about the painted flag – or anything on our fence or yard.
 

Since the two rooms flow together, here’s a shot of our kitchen.  I really really like our kitchen.  What’s not to love? Granite counters, maple cabinets, stainless steel appliances.  I’ve definitely been making good use of my new kitchen since we moved in.  The only thing missing is a back splash which I intend to DIY at some point.  We also intend to get new stools for the breakfast bar that match whatever dining table and chairs we eventually add. 

Since I’ve been loving the new kitchen, I couldn’t resist inviting some family over for Easter Sunday.  We’ll have to bring the folding card table and chairs down for some extra seating.  I’m looking forward to shopping for some Easter table decor!

Leave a Reply

